Lab 5 Web & FTP Servers

Lab 5:  Web & FTP Servers

by:  James Moore, Partner:  Matt Balderree

Questions:  According to Netcraft, what is the most popular type of web server in operation?  Apache.  Has this always been the case?  No, in the early 90s NCSA was more popular and the standard.  Since 1995 most have switched over to Apache majority and others like Microsoft and Sun.  Currently NCSA and Sun are just about dead, and Google and nginx have taken some market share as Microsoft continues to decline.  Apache still holds a steady majority.

Objectives:  Download and Install a Web Server.

Equipment List:  2 x Mac Laptops (USED THROUGHOUT LAB)

Notes and Observations:  We did not have to download any software as Macs have built-in web servers.  Instead we went to system preferences-sharing-enable web sharing.

Diagrams, Flowcharts, and Figures:  None (THROUGHOUT LAB)

References:  Lab handout (SAME USED THROUGHOUT LAB)

Objectives:  Testing the webserver

Notes and Observations:  We tested the TCP/IP functionality by typing http://localhost in the address bar of our browser, in my case Firefox.  Also on a Mac when web sharing is enables it gives the personal web site address for you to click on and in my case was http://10.10.2.132/~jmm0592, also the loopback or computer’s address was http://10.10.2.132.

Objectives:  Create a homepage

Notes and Observations:  I first ran into the problem of where and how to locate my homepage in .txt format to edit.  I found the webpage in a folder called “Sites” which is the default folder for created web servers.  I located the file index.html and opened it in a Word document and set up my homepage.  I added an image to the homepage and then checked to see if it worked, which it did.

Objectives:  Download & Install FTP daemon.

Notes and Observations:  For this I just went to System Preferences-Sharing-File Sharing-Enable FTP sharing.

Objectives:  Add FTP User Accounts

Notes and Observations:  Went to System Preferences-Accounts-Create a user-and added the name Doe and set up a password.  After that I went into FTP sharing and added Doe to the list.

Objectives:  Use a command line FTP Client

Notes and Observations:  We opened our terminal windows and tried to access each others ftp servers.  By following the lab instruction command line for the terminal I was able to see Matt’s complete listing of folders and was able to communicate with his computer.  However it didn’t work when Matt tried to access mine.  We found that the problem was at first I didn’t create a user under accounts instead just adding a name under ftp sharing.  After twice deleting and adding the Doe account it finally worked and he was able to do the same.

Conclusion:  This lab afforded me the opportunity to create a homepage and setup a web server and ftp server.  Using our Macs made this lab pretty easy without having to download extra software, except for Matt having to download something extra due to him using a newer version of OSX.  We ran out of time troubleshooting and didn’t have a chance to do it on a PC, but did complete the lab using our Macs.  I learned how easy it could be to setup a basic homepage, and a FTP with others.  Also gave me more experience with the Terminal and learning more commands and finding help in the terminal by pressing ? and on a MAC displaying all possible commands by holding down the ESC key.

About jmm0592

I am from Lakeland, FL. I am married with two kids. I've been in the military since 2002, which led me to Kansas. I worked on Signal Communications for 5 years in the Army on older Vietnam era Small Extension Nodes, Line of site Antennae, Radios, and fiber optics and cable installing. I switched career fields to Unmanned Aircraft back in 2007 in the Army. I separated from Active Duty and have been a student at Kstate since Spring 2011. I am a UAS major.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

