Blog 5

This week was used to review for our test.  We cleared the room out and were given 4 cards with a networking subject on it.  We then went around the room and compared cards and how they relate to each other like, “physical layer – crossover cable.”  This was a helpful exercise to review, but also to bring up questions.

We also discussed this week encapsulation.  Simple explanation, the encapsulation means the lower layer of TCP/IP protocol suite would wrap (encapsulate) the upper layer’s data, header and add its own header/footer with protocol information, then send to lower layer again till the encapsulated data is sent out to other networking device, finally the unwrapping (decapsulation) process on the received data would be enforced at the destination.

What I contributed this week:  I updated the wiki for the Data Link Layer,  I also contributed a link on Diigo of a youtube video on Ports vs Sockets.

About jmm0592

I am from Lakeland, FL. I am married with two kids. I've been in the military since 2002, which led me to Kansas. I worked on Signal Communications for 5 years in the Army on older Vietnam era Small Extension Nodes, Line of site Antennae, Radios, and fiber optics and cable installing. I switched career fields to Unmanned Aircraft back in 2007 in the Army. I separated from Active Duty and have been a student at Kstate since Spring 2011. I am a UAS major.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

