Blog 1: The First Week of Networking 1 class

Well the first week was a lot of learning basics and some introduction to new things and websites.  First the basic concept of what networking is, a bunch of computers interconnected by communication channels.  Well I knew that coming into this class, but for me networking has been to just turn the wifi on and start cruising the internet.  Not much of computer savvy techie. This is probably why I have three Mac computers in my house, heck even my router is an Apple airport where I just plug it in and that is it.  So for me this class will probably be a challenge.  The first website introduction was wikispaces where our class now has its own ksuNetworking wiki.  So this semester we are to write our own book and add all the things we learned to this wiki.  At first the idea of not having to buy a book for this class sounded good until I was hit with this.  I warmed up to it after just the first assignment to post terms in the glossary.  I’m guessing most of the class is majoring in some sort of IT career field and is probably way ahead of me in terms of knowledge of computer and networking.  So looking down the list I decided well someone like me will be reading this book so how about a term no one else has posted yet, “Networking.”  The second website we are using is diigo, it allows people to share content and highlight and organize content in unique ways.  So far we have been posting internet stories and articles about Networking, Internet, and Computers.

The first lab we had been making a website and posting it online.  You can read more into that on Lab 1 Blog.  The lab for me was difficult and as I looked around the room everyone was typing away like they have done this a hundred times.  The lab sheet looked like complete Greek to me and I didn’t even know the first concept of it.  So once the teacher seen the blank stare on my face and my lack of typing like the rest of the class, he gave me a good explanation of File Transfer Protocol (FTP) and how computers read code.  My second problem I ran into during the lab was the Windows XP computer wouldn’t work.  Wow go figure the same reason I switched away from PCs and Windows due to unreliability.  So I had to bust out my trusty Mac to complete the lab.  I’ve also noticed a lot of IT type students don’t like Macs very much or have never used them.  Anyways this lab gave me a chance to use my computer in ways I never had and learn more about its capabilities.

Lastly I’ve been introduced to WordPress and blogging.  I have never written or had interest in blogging.  So yet again something new to me.  I can see its benefit of not only sharing, but catalog and keep track of things you’ve done.

About jmm0592

I am from Lakeland, FL. I am married with two kids. I've been in the military since 2002, which led me to Kansas. I worked on Signal Communications for 5 years in the Army on older Vietnam era Small Extension Nodes, Line of site Antennae, Radios, and fiber optics and cable installing. I switched career fields to Unmanned Aircraft back in 2007 in the Army. I separated from Active Duty and have been a student at Kstate since Spring 2011. I am a UAS major.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog 1: The First Week of Networking 1 class

  1. James,

    Excellent write-up. I think you will catch on and do just fine in this class. Don’t be afraid to ask questions if you don’t understand something, and please don’t assume that everyone else already knows more than you do. I can assure you that not everyone is an IT whiz and networking expert. I really like that you are using your Mac in our labs. It reinforces the idea that networks are for all computers, no matter what brand or operating system. We’ve been PC-only for so long, it’s good to see some other types of computers floating around in our class.

Leave a Reply

