Lab 1- Setting up a homepage

Lab 1:  Setting up a homepage

By:  James Moore, Partner:  Matt Balderree

January 20, 2012

Project 1:  Make a Webpage with a text editor

Objective:  For project 1 we were to make a webpage using a  text editor and save it in .html format in order to be opened with a web browser.

Equipment:  PC, Notepad (text editor), Browser (Explorer).  Later used Mac Pro Laptop, Open Office, and Firefox.

Notes and Observations:  I initially started out using a PC desktop with WinXP, notepad, and using internet explorer.  I was able to complete the first page, but ran into some computer difficulties with the screen cutting in and out.  I switched to my Mac Pro and decided to take on the challenge using my Mac.  I used open office as my text editor and firefox browser.  I used FTP in the text editor and then saved it as .html format.  This initially didn’t work with a Mac, but I was able to figure out to save in .txt format and save file extension as .html in order for this to be viewed in a web browser  without showing the full FTP text.

Project 2:  Publish Webpages on a Web Server

Notes and Observations:  Unable to complete this Project using my Mac.

Project 3:  Make a Blog

Notes and Observations:  This is my preferred method for completing lab reports versus making web pages.  I created this blog on WordPress to show my labs and progress in Networking 1 class.

Project 4:  Edit the Networking Wiki

Notes and Observations:  I added myself to the Wiki group.  I edited the glossary with the definition of well Networking.  There were a lot of definitions and terms, but the simple basis of the wiki never was defined.

Project 5:  Join Diigo and the KSU Networking Group, share a webpage.

Notes and Observations:  Joined the group and shared a webpage from the website engadget.com on Powerline Networking.

Conclusions:  I never made a webpage before and had a hard time at first.  Everyone in class just started typing away and I had not even the slightest idea how to get started.  I didn’t know what FTP was or what any of the coding meant for creating the webpage.  Once the teacher showed me an example using Yahoo.com it made more sense.  My second problem is I don’t use PCs very often and then my PC became inoperable.  After figuring out how to do the lab on my Mac the lab went more smoothly.  The major problem using the mac was the text editor that is the equivalent to the PC notepad would only save in rich text format.  I was able to use openoffice on my MAC and remedy this problem by saving in plain text format with .html extension.  Overall I learned what some basic webpage publishing skills that I didn’t know how to do before the lab.

About jmm0592

I am from Lakeland, FL. I am married with two kids. I've been in the military since 2002, which led me to Kansas. I worked on Signal Communications for 5 years in the Army on older Vietnam era Small Extension Nodes, Line of site Antennae, Radios, and fiber optics and cable installing. I switched career fields to Unmanned Aircraft back in 2007 in the Army. I separated from Active Duty and have been a student at Kstate since Spring 2011. I am a UAS major.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

